The Tesserae turns 3!

Thank you to Teena in Toronto for wishing me a Happy Blogoversary!  That was so very nice of her!  I knew it was coming up, but somehow, I completely forgot all about it.

It is hard for me to believe that I am still blogging after three years.  Time goes by so fast, and yet, there aren’t enough hours in the week to post something…weekly.

I need to get my priorities straight.

For this special blogoversary post, I’ll share something personal that I’ve been interested in for the past two days (perhaps my preoccupation is responsible for missing my blogoversary).

Back in the mid 80’s, someone introduced  The Church to me.  Not the church, but the alternative rock band from Australia.  I listened to them religiously (pun) throughout my school years and college, and in 1990, I finally saw them perform.  Seeing their performance was one of the most amazing moments in my life, one that I have never forgotten.

Just yesterday, I was longing to hear some of their music, but I only had a few of their older songs.  Searching through the Internet, I was able to find a few of their earlier albums, Heyday and Seance. I spent the entire day listening to their older tunes and reminiscing about my youth at the ages of  fourteen and fifteen years old.

While searching for The Church’s music, I came across some concert footage of them on YouTube.  To my astonishment, I found an upload of the EXACT same performance I had attended back 1990!  I was only nineteen years old at the time.  Like I mentioned, those memories of seeing The Church perform have always stayed with me.  Now, to see some of it on YouTube 21 years later…well, it’s one of the most exciting things I have experienced lately.  Thanks to kurt2112, my memories now have a visual reference.  I just hope he doesn’t decide to one day remove those uploads from YouTube.

The video clip is of The Church when they performed in Raleigh, NC.  Their opening number was “Pharaoh”.  I remember that opening so well, and it gives me chills to finally be able to see it again – after all this time.

And OH MY!  Marty Willson-Piper was soooo HOT!  That’s the nineteen year-old Tammy talking. ;-).

8 Comments

Filed under blogging, life, music, thoughts, videos

8 responses to “The Tesserae turns 3!

  1. Happy Blog-o-versary, Tammy! I need to go see when mine is. My poor blog has been so neglected lately. His brother gets all my time. Well, frankly my family gets all my time, but the recipe site gets a whole lot more attention than the blog. yeah okay –

    Anyway, I used to LOVE the Church! “Under the milky way tonight…”

    Off to check the video!

  2. Cool! Hey, I just wrote a new post with my first vlog! Check it out!

    Thanks again for the inspiration, you might get a trackback. 😉

  3. Happy Blogoversary!
    That’s pretty cool that someone videotaped the performance that you were at and put it up on youtube!

    note: I will have to check youtube for The Boomtown Rats now.

    • Thanks for the blogoversary wish! I still can’t believe I found that performance on YouTube.

      Bob Geldof brings back some memoires. I use to have “In the Long Grass”. Wish I still had it…

Leave a Reply

