Ratatouille rocks!

Sunday, I happened to be traveling in my car during a broadcast of a radio program about food called The Splendid Table.  Lynne Rossetto Kasper, the program’s hostess, was about to introduce a guest to discuss a rustic French stew called ratatouille. I was familiar with the dish, but I had never eaten it.  This I had to hear.

Francis Lam was the guest and he discussed his special method of making ratatouille.  I wasn’t really intrigued with his method, I don’t have time to stand and stir tomatoes into a jam-like consistency for let’s say, an hour.  However, I was intrigued with making my own ratatouille.  Now to find the best recipe, and of course, one that was easy.

Not only did I find an easy ratatouille recipe,  I also discovered a fabulous website about sustainable cooking, called Sustainable Pantry.com.   I followed the recipe as instructed and combined basil, thyme and marjoram for the mixture of herbes de Provence.  I must boast and add that the marjoram was the kicker!  Definitely glad I used it.

OH MY! It was so delicious! I didn’t know what to expect from a mixture of onions, peppers, tomatoes, eggplant and zucchini, but I never thought it would taste so good!  Perhaps I was just very hungry.  Food often taste better when you are famished.  Regardless, I just had to write about it!

If you are looking for an end-of-the-summer meal, perhaps for a meatless Monday dinner, ratatouille might be a hit. Watch the movie, too. Ratatouille is one of my favorite Pixar films.

But if you have any picky eaters in your family, particularly those who don’t like onions, peppers, eggplant and zucchini, you could get lucky and end up having it all to yourself.  Like me.

8 Comments

Filed under blogging, cooking, eating, food, home, life, thoughts

8 responses to “Ratatouille rocks!

  1. I would never in a million years make ratatouille, … but I’d eat it happily and have seconds.

    note: I like vegetarian cooking … I just don’t usually do it for myself … and add meat usually. hee hee!

    • Making ratatouille took longer than I thought, about an hour including prep. It’s okay, it only took me 40 years to finally make it.

      I do a lot of vegetarian cooking these days…for myself. Meat is still required for the fam, but it’s on the side.

  2. Jennifer H.

    Yours looks even better than the one for the link for the recipe! I will have to try this soon. I am not a vegetarian, but we eat vegetarian a couple of days each week 🙂 Thanks for sharing this!!!!!

    • Thanks Jennifer! I hope others in your family will like it. I ate mine with hearty multi-grain bread. I try to eat mostly vegetarian, but sometimes I splurge and eat tuna in sushi. 😉

  3. I’m the picky eater you were referring to 🙂

    Happy blogoversary 🙂

  4. I love everything about Ratatouille – but especially pronouncing it!!

    Thanks for the link to Sustainable Pantry – what a great site!

Leave a Reply

