Discovering Matt and Kim

Don’t you just love how one small simple thing can lead to something…BIG?

Late the other night, I was lying in bed with my little netbook.  Bed time for me is my only time ( I mean only time) I watch television, or in this case, television online.  I decided to watch “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. ” I think I had  one of those days, you know – a rotten one, and I needed a good laugh.  I can always count on Jimmy for a good one of those.

As I scrolled through the recent episodes list, I noticed that Steve Carell appeared on a show that aired back on July 26th .  I’m a big fan of “The Office”, even if I completely missed season 7.   Steve was on to promote his new movie, “Crazy, Stupid, Love.”  I snuggled up in my bed to watch Jimmy and Steve, expecting to be entertained, but secretly hoping that I wouldn’t laugh too much, which I knew would prevent me from easily falling asleep.

At the end of the show, Jimmy introduced a band I had never heard before.  A cute boy/girl band called Matt and Kim.  After watching their impressive and highly energetic performance, I became an instant fan!  Oh. My. Where I have been!?  I’ll tell you where I’ve been –  either under a rock or in a hole.  My life is spent on everything other than keeping up with the latest bands and their music as well as news and current events.  Not only am I constantly behind with almost everything involving pop culture,  but I tend to run five years or more behind!  Meaning – if it was popular in 2006, then I’m just now finding out about it.   But in the case of Matt and Kim, who cares!  Woo-hoo!

Needless to say, my OCD kicked in to overdrive that night, and I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning catching up on all things Matt and Kim!

Now, Matt and Kim might not be for everybody, especially if your musical taste isn’t the same.  Their music is different than most, but that appeals to me.  Also, they are a young adult’s kind of band. Where was a band like this when I was 20?  To be quite honest, I’m kind of suprised that I like them.  I mean, I’m definitely not young anymore.  But I made a vow with myself to always try to stay youthful.  At my ripe old age of 40, I have to admit that Matt and Kim make me wish I was 20 years old again.  I’ll even settle for mid-20’s 30’s!  They are just so much fun to watch.  How can a person not smile when they watch them?  They look so happy!

I don’t know…maybe I’m having an inner-mid-life crisis.

Yeah, I think that’s what it is!

If you missed “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” that aired Tuesday, July 26, 2011, and featured a fantastic performance by Matt and Kim singing Block After Block, you can watch them here.

7 Comments

Filed under blogging, life, music, television, thoughts, videos

7 responses to “Discovering Matt and Kim

  1. What a fun band! She’s soooo in shape! Great muscle tone in her arms. Maybe I should take up drums…….
    Thanks for turning me on to them. 🙂

    • I checked out their tour schedule just to see if they are coming near me. I’d love to see them, but I’d feel like someone’s mother.
      I had the same thought about taking up drums. lol
      You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. Hey – thanks for the heads up. I will definitely check out the video! *crawling out from beneath my rock*

  3. THEY ARE AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Yeah, they are pretty amazing! I’m glad you liked them.
      Something I should have added before, some of their concert footage, videos, and one photo in particular are definitely for an adult R-rated crowd. That part disappoints me, but that seems to be the norm with the younger peeps these days.

  4. The last semi-new/3 or 4 years old singer I got into was Jeremy Fisher: Matt and Kim seem to be a bit quirkier that he is, but they are pretty upbeat … I have to say that.

    • Yes, I agree they are quirky. I don’t usually go for quirky musicians, but sometimes, it’s okay to step out of the box for a while. It keeps life interesting…I guess.

Leave a Reply

