A viral visitor

Two weeks! 

It has been two weeks since my last post.  I thought I was on a roll with writing a weekly post.  Until…

My husband and I went out-of-town for our 16th wedding anniversary two weeks ago.  I was looking forward to writing about our trip, but then I came down with a cold virus after returning on Sunday night.   And so as viruses go, I have had the classic symptoms nasal congestion, cough, fatigue and a general icky feeling.  It isn’t the flu (thank God) because I can still function. Barely.   

Right now, my son is sick with the virus and I’m counting the days until it hits my husband.  I’m praying the zinc and Vitamin C are doing their job.  Everyone with a husband knows they are sometimes worse than children when they are sick.  

In the meantime, I am reading The China StudyI must explain that I don’t read for leisure but for information.  So far, this book has been one of the most informative books I have ever read.  It is also easy to read and understand.  I get lost in technical speak, especially when it is about scientific research and statistical data.  The China Study has confirmed my own suspicions I have had about our Western diet and diseases, which Dr. Campbell refers to disease of “affluence”.   There is so much I want to share like the circumstances behind how this book was suggested to me and my husband and my thoughts about diet  health and nutrition.  I am just not able to get my thoughts together while we have this visitor here.

Until this viral visitor decides it has over-stayed its welcome, I’ll be forced to play nurse Tammy until it leaves.  

Here I am during our anniversary weekend.  It was the calm before the storm. 

Oh, to be feeling 100% again! 

 

8 Comments

Filed under blogging, books, life, science, thoughts, vacation

8 responses to “A viral visitor

  1. Hope you will be well very soon. My cough lasted 3 weeks.

  2. You look happy and in love! Beaches & alone time do that to me too. 🙂

    So sorry you’ve succumbed to the plague. Hang in there and get well soon!

  3. Happy belated 16th anniversary! Love that picture of you, by the way.

  4. Hope you are feeling better.

    I never celebrate wedding anniversaries … probably because I’m single.

    I will be at a beach in a few weeks: an onsen hotel in Niigata; watching the sunset while sitting in an onsen of course. I think there is a salmon museum close by too … go figure.

  5. S.Le: 3 weeks? I don’t know if I can take blowing my nose for 3 weeks.

    Christy: The beach was low-key and relaxing. Most of the stores were closed for the season, like a sleepy little coastal town.

    Ghetto Girl: Thanks! I’ll visit your blog soon. I just haven’t had time to read all of my favorites. 🙂

    planetross: I’m feeling a little better, just in time for everyone else to get sick.

    You should dedicate a day for your single anniversary.

    Have fun at the beach. Where there is an onsen, there is planetross.

  6. Congratulations on beating the bug! I’ve been ill myself for the last 3 weeks and it’s not been nice! As a man…yes…I may concede we do sometimes act worse than children when we are ill – over-exaggeration is one of the major symptoms of man-flu!

    Also congratulations on your 16th anniversary!

    All the best!

    • Hi Jason, Thanks for stopping by.
      I must say, you are brave to admit that men do over-exaggerate during an illness.
      Hope you are well by now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

