My first time

…making sushi!  What?  What did you think I was going to talk about?  🙂

Oh, how I love to eat sushi! 

One of my favorite places to shop is Borders Books.  I went there on my birthday and I bought a sushi recipe book/DVD kit, Simply Sushi by Steven Pallett . Then on Saturday, my besty, who knows how to make sushi, took me to an Asian market in the city to shop for ingredients.  I made my first sushi tonight and it was FABULOSO!  Making the rice was easier than I expected.  I didn’t go for raw fish, I just used chopped mushrooms, long green beans, avocado and a soft cheese.  I even improvised and used shrimp cocktail sauce instead of wasabi.  I got the rolling technique right on my third try, and now I feel like a pro. 

My picky son even loved it and kept asking for more.  Now that will make a mom happy.

You know you grew up in the 80’s if you get this song stuck in your head.

Turning Japanese, I think I’m turning Japanese, I really think so!!

  

10 Comments

Filed under blogging, cooking, eating, family, food, friends, home, humor, life, moms, photography, shopping, videos

10 responses to “My first time

  1. Wow they look Great!!!! My family and I tried this a while back and they came out delicious! Check it out:
    http://olara21.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/sushi/

  2. BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! I had to go to Borders yesterday to get a calendar, saw that sushi kit on my way to checkout and thought of you! We made sushi a few times back in Philly. But my kids started using my bamboo mat for playdough and I had to toss it. MUST get another one — so inspiring!! XO

    • That’s cool you saw the same sushi kit! I bought a calendar at Borders, too. It was an Origami fold-a-day calendar. I’m not sure where all of this Japanese influence is coming from.
      You MUST get another mat ASAP!

  3. A long time ago I tried making my own sushi with sushinoko powder in the rice and cucumber/other stuff, but … it turns out to be cheaper to buy here than make … and easier! hee hee!

    Vegetarian sushi doesn’t involve so much bludgeoning, but the chopping sounds difficult.

    Yours look great!

    • As you can imagine, making sushi here is the opposite, it’s less expensive to make than to buy. I was surprised to pay $7.00 for my bag of sushi rice, but it will last a long time.

      I tried to keep it simple, for this reason using the vegetables. If it required anymore prep, I wouldn’t have made them.

  4. Congrats! My husband & I love sushi; for my birthday he registered us for a sushi-making class. It was nice to read about your success!

Leave a Reply

