‘Tis the season

Christmas break is finally here!  Today was my first full day without homeschooling and what did I do?  I cleaned my floors.  Yes, that’s right.  I can’t remember the last time I cleaned my floors, and coming from someone who is a self-proclaimed “clean freak”, I should be very ashamed.   There aren’t enough days in the week to do even the most necessary things, like cleaning my floors.  But today I was back to my old self with mop and bucket in hand.   Bliss!

On the other hand, my hubby could use a break.  He has been acting rather strangely lately.  The other day, I found him manipulating the throw pillow…he thought he was Napoleon Bonaparte.   Poor thing,  I think he has become delusional.  His Christmas break needs to hurry and begin.  Who knows who I might encounter in the living room next. When I am not taking pictures of Napoleon, I’m making crafty Christmas gifts.  This quirky gift idea has probably been around for a while, but it is new to me.  It’s snowman soup!  Just add to a treat bag: a packet of hot cocoa, a handful of miniature marshmallows, a candy cane, and a few Hershey Kisses.  Then, attach the clever snowman soup tag (from Brown Paper Packages), and you have an instant gift. 

What do you do with any candy canes you didn’t use?  Well, I found another cute idea from Brown Paper Packages (again).  Dip the candy canes in melted chocolate!  Sure, why not!  What’s a few extra calories?  ‘Tis the season!  And while you’re at it, sprinkle some fun holiday sprinkles on the chocolate.  I purchased these holly and berry sprinkles at Target for only $1.00.  I know they look kind of sloppy, but I wasn’t concerned with presentation.  I just wanted something fun to do, and my son was pleasantly surprised that they were all for him!  Usually, I give all the cute, yummy things I make to others.  He couldn’t believe that I made them only for him to enjoy. 

My Christmas shopping is done and over the next couple of days, I will be planning our Christmas Eve dinner with my family.  We don’t have a traditional meal each Christmas,  I like to make something different.  Last Christmas, I made a London Broil and this year I am thinking…PULLED PORK!  Oh yeah, some good ‘ol Eastern NC style barbecue.  My hubby is from “down east”, grew up roasting whole hogs (pig pickins), and pork barbecue was the traditional Christmas Eve dinner served at his grandparents.  It isn’t a surprise to me that he would be all for it.  I called the local butcher today and reserved our very own 8 -9 pound Boston Butt to pick up on Thursday.  There are various ways to prepare the pork, such as soaking it in brine and using rubs.  All I know how to do is make the secret family BBQ sauce.  Based on what I can gather from all of my online research, the “butt” needs to roast in the oven for 10 hours or so – slow and low.  I have never slow roasted anything. It sounds easy, but honestly, I have no idea what I am doing.   Yikes!  I hope I can “pull” this off.  Pun intended.  🙂

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! 

10 Comments

Filed under blogging, Christmas, eating, family, food, holidays, home, homeschool, humor, life, moms, photography, random, thoughts

10 responses to “‘Tis the season

  1. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! Apart from the cleaning that is. I despise cleaning like nothing else. Matter of fact, my husband has been lamenting not having gotten me a Christmas gift yet and part of me wants to suggest “Clean the House.” be it. I think I will. It’s FREE after all! Merry Christmas, Tammy & family!!

    • Christy: I always say my cleaning fettish is a blessing and a curse. I have to be careful when I go to someone’s house and I have to fight the urge to clean up something or straighten a crooked picture hanging on the wall. LOL

      I hope you had a great Christmas. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. Those chocolate covered candy canes look like seahorses!

    I’m going no turkey “cold turkey” this year. I think Italian or a good Indian might help me through the withdrawals.

    Merry Christmas!

    • planetross: I’m sure that someone, somewhere in the world, has eaten a chocolate covered seahorse.

      I hope your “cold turkey” was tasty…or a success, rather. 😉

      Merry Christmas to you, too!

  3. Merry Christmas!
    Your hubby wearing that pillow like a hat is hilarious!
    Using “butt”, “pick”, and “pull” in the same sentence sounds so wrong. LOL!

  4. Love the photos of your hubby! Want some of the sweets you made!

Leave a Reply

