Brrr, it’s cold

The thermometer outside reads 23 degrees F and the time is 8:30 P.M.  The temperature today never got above 30 degrees F.  I have had a fire burning in the fireplace all day. Not that I need a fire for heat, but I just like having a fire, especially when it is so cold outside.  The added warmth of the fire is nice, being that I am cold natured and all.   

Our first snow for December fell back on the 5th.  Only a couple of inches accumulated, but it was beautiful.  Some of the snow remained on the ground for almost a week due to the frigid temperatures. 

Our dogwood tree with lights all covered with snow.

Something about cold weather makes people want to eat more, especially starches, as in bread.  I made the “best doughnuts” (recipe at the end) one evening and served them on my terra-cotta snack plates.  I purchased the plates and cups in a set of six at an antique store.  They appear to be handmade from a mold, but there is no stamp or name on the bottom.  I love the casual style with the terra-cotta and oatmeal colored glaze.  I use them every chance I get with either dessert and coffee, tea and a snack, or soup with crackers.  I wish I knew the circumstances for why they ended up in the antique shop.  Regardless of why, they are mine now and I love them!

The cold temperatures outside, cozy fires, and comfort foods have put me in the mood for Christmas. Only eleven more days until Christmas Eve!  I am hoping for more snow.  Snow would be awesome around Christmas. There is a rumor we may have a white Christmas, but I doubt it will happen.   It’s OK to dream of a white Christmas, right? 

Now, go make some doughnuts!  If you can’t make them, buy some. 🙂 

Better Homes & Gardens “Best Doughnuts” recipe

Prep: 30 minutes 
Chill: 2 hours
Cook: 2 minutes per batch 

Ingredients

  • 3 -1/2  cups  all-purpose flour
  • 1  Tbsp.  baking powder
  • 1  tsp.  ground cinnamon
  • 3/4  tsp.  salt
  • 1/2  tsp.  ground nutmeg
  • 1/3  cup  milk
  • 1/2  cup  butter, melted
  • 4    eggs, beaten
  • 2/3  cup  sugar
  •     Vegetable oil for deep-fat frying
  •     Cinnamon-Sugar or sifted powdered sugar

Directions

1. In a bowl combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg; set aside. In another bowl combine milk and melted butter. In a large mixing bowl combine eggs, and sugar; beat with electric mixer until thick (about 5 minutes). Add milk mixture; stir with a wooden spoon to combine. Add flour mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until smooth. Cover dough; chill at least 2 hours (dough will remain slightly sticky).

2. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll dough to 1/2-inch thickness. Cut dough with a floured 2-1/2-inch round cutter. Use a 1-1/4-inch cutter to cut the hole for the doughnut. (You can also use a standard doughnut cutter.)

3. Fry 2 or 3 doughnuts at a time in deep hot fat (375 degrees F) for 2 to 2-1/2 minutes or until brown, turning halfway through cooking with a slotted spoon. Drain on paper towels. Repeat with remaining doughnuts and doughnut holes. Makes about 15 doughnuts and doughnut holes

4. Shake warm doughnuts in a bag with Cinnamon-Sugar or powdered sugar. Serve warm (or reheat each doughnut 8 to 10 seconds in microwave on high).

Cinnamon-Sugar: Stir together 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1 tsp. ground cinnamon.

Nutrition Facts

  • Calories 382,
  • Total Fat (g)20,
  • Cholesterol (mg)290,
  • Sodium (mg)326,
  • Carbohydrate (g)39,
  • Fiber (g)1,
  • Protein (g)11,
  • Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet
6 Comments

Filed under blogging, ceramics, Christmas, cooking, eating, food, holidays, home, life, moms, nature, photography, pottery, shopping, thoughts, trees

6 responses to “Brrr, it’s cold

  1. Oh, well done making donuts! Sheesh! Make the rest of us look bad then!

    The “snack” plates are cute. They look very 70s.

    Your tree is lovely.

    Temperature here in Northern Ohio is 10!

  2. I wish I had a fireplace.
    So I could fill my face
    with honey glazed doughnuts and such.
    Terra-cottage cheese … not so much.

    All my plates are chipped … there must be a Terra-Cotta Warrior roaming around in my cupboard. hee hee!

    • planetross: Terra-cottage cheese! hahaha!
      I hate when my plates get chipped. But I don’t get the Terra-Cotta Warrior.
      Saying “terra-cotta” is fun.
      Terra-cotta-da-vida!

  3. Ooh the doughnuts look DELISH! Love the plates & cups. I bought something similar but green in color from IKEA. Not nearly as nice (especially since everything broke except one sole plate). Oh well, loved them while they lasted! PS: How come you have snow down south when I live in MAINE AND HAVE NONE! XO

    • Thanks Christy! I’m sure you can make them sodium free, if you don’t already have a doughnut recipe. 😉

      I told my hubby tonight that I want to go to IKEA for my b-day (in mid January). The nearest IKEA is 80 miles away, no time to go between now and X-mas. That gives me enough time to clean out some cupboard space.

      A wintry mix is expected overnight. Brrrr, again.

Leave a Reply

