Summer wrap-up

This will be my last summer post. I can’t believe how fast the summer went by. I have only one more week left of my summer break. YIKES! I really can’t complain, this summer has been one of the best.  I am posting several pictures of this and that, telling of some different things that occupied my time (or things I bought) over the summer.  These were things I never got around to blogging about, so it is all lumped together here in one post.  If you read my blog, you’ll usually see plenty of photos in my posts.  I think it’s because I’m visual.  Or I just like to take pictures.

In the early part of summer,  I took a short class on how to make lids on a potter’s wheel.  I threw this pot and lid on the wheel, and they both came together to resemble an acorn.  My son helped by using a small rock to add some texture to the lid.  I think the glaze fired nicely. What do you think?

Now, here is one of my super-duper finds from my antique shopping.  It is Liberty Blue dinnerware china by Enoch Wedgwood.  (Liberty Blue was produced to commemorate our country’s bicentennial back in 1976.  I was 5 years old back then.)  I bought this 6 piece place setting with a service for six in perfect condition.  I love the Colonial America scenes. I won’t tell you what I paid, but it was truly a bargain!  I don’t collect antiques, but I had to buy this just because it was an investment. 😉

Wow! If this doesn’t take you back.  I picked up this old television for $5.  It goes perfectly well with our Atari 2600 game system.  I believe it is illegal to play an Atari on any television that isn’t pre-1985.  Playing Pac-Man (30 years later) brought back great memories of my childhood.  A friend visited me one day and she saw it and said, “I can’t believe you have an Atari!”  I said, “Yeah, we are officially nerds now.”  Next, she eagerly asked if we had Asteroids, and I replied with, “Yup.”  That was a good day.

We visited a Lego retail store and saw some amazing Lego creations.  Here are just a few.

Lego Sumo Wrestlers

Lego sheep  (baaaaa-baaaaa) 

 Lego cake with flies (ewww)

I made pork souvlakis with homemade tzatziki sauce.  I hope to blog about it and share my recipe at some point.

 

I spent several days researching, gathering, and purchasing the books I will use for homeschooling this year.  Most of what we will be working with is in one place on this cart in the dining room. 

And I finally met my hero!!  What a wonderful way to wrap up my summer!

5 Comments

Filed under blogging, books, cooking, eating, family, food, game systems, home, homeschool, life, moms, parenting, photography, pottery, shopping, thoughts, toys

5 responses to “Summer wrap-up

  1. A little Prep H could help with your asteroids. LOL!
    Lovely photos. You did an excellent job with your acorn pot.
    Where do you go to meet Charlie Brown?

    • Jean, Haha you are sooo funny with the Prep H joke. How old are you again? LOL!
      Thanks for the compliment on the acorn pot.
      Charlie Brown was at Carowinds, an amusement park in Charlotte, NC.

  2. S. Le

    I also really like your acorn pot. You could use it as a biscuit barrel! (cookie jar)

    The collectible china is lovely.

    The Lego stuff is fun!

    You and son are either very small or Charlie Brown is quite large. Which is it then?

    • S. Le: Thanks! The pot is small and would only hold a handful of biscuits. I’m think of candy corn. 🙂
      I have never owned any china, and the blue pattern isn’t exactly my style but I’m warming up to it. It’s fun to use, but not as fun as Legos.
      I’m 5′ 6″ and my son is almost 5′, so Charlie Brown was a smallish character.

  3. 2GreyCats

    Hello! I’m very interested in making the Lego sheep… There is a Lego store in my area, and they have the exactly same sheep on display, but the staff on duty basically shrugged his shoulders and said, “it’s not an official kit, and we probably don’t have all the pieces to make those here in the store.” I asked him which pieces I needed, and he said, “I dunno… maybe you could take a picture and kind of figure out which ones they are.” Let’s just say “wildly unhelpful” is an understatement here. Anyway, are you familiar enough with the different pieces and their names, to be able to tell me which pieces are involved in those sheep? If not, please pardon me for bothering you… thanks!

Leave a Reply

