Modifications

modify

a: to make minor changes in b: to make basic or fundamental changes in often to give a new orientation to or to serve a new end.

…to undergo change.  

Currently, I am dealing with several things.  They are listed in random order:

-husband’s full time job and his part time job

-finishing up school with my son

-plans for the summer

-selling our house

-buying the house we want to move to

-framing my finished ceramic pieces

-working on more ceramics during the summer

MY MEMBERSHIP AT THE Y!

What am I mostly concerned with more than anything right now?  My membership at the Y.  My husband works there part time and we get a free family membership.  The “free” part fits perfectly into my frugal lifestyle.  I have been regularly going there for weight training since January.  I am seeing results and it’s encouraging to track all of my activity .  Today, my husband told me that he needs to focus more on his full time job and he will need to give up the part time job.  What he really said was, “Tammy, you can sacrifice your membership so I can keep my sanity or I can sacrifice my sanity so you can keep your membership.”  I am in a quandary.   Do I want a sane husband?  Probably so.

With that ultimatum, or what some would call give and take in a marriage, I am now forced to modify my workout routine to the archaic exercises of the past…push ups, sits up and the like.  BORING!  How do I modify the exercises I’ve been doing on the weight machines and do them at home?  This has me stressed out.  My husband has been helpful and has equipped me with some items from around the house.  I can use his interchangeable 8 pound dumbbell, a barbell set, and a couple of other “devices” he created to duplicate what I normally do on the machines.  As good as his efforts are with the “modifications”, it still won’t be the same.   There is also my core fusion class that I won’t be able to attend anymore.  Watching a DVD in my living room just will not be the same.  Overall, I am going to miss going out to the Y more than anything.  It was time away that was well spent.

From this….  

YMCA

40LB_AEROBIC_BARBELL_SET

                                                                                                                                                                                                 …to this.

One might ask, “Why don’t you just buy a membership at the Y?” Purchasing a membership will be a stretch for me because our membership has been free for the past 8 years.  I compare it to having a car with no car payment.  It is really nice to not have a car payment, and you get use to having the extra money.  Then, something happens and you have to buy another car and now you have a car payment.  I cannot bring myself to buying a membership.  Not right now anyway.  It just is not an option. 

My son and I will finish school this week, my ceramics will get framed and I will possibly make more, our house will be shown more until the right person comes along, and our summer plans with get planned.  But I am not sure how I am going to adjust to my “new” workout routine.  

A year ago, I was 25 pounds heavier, could barely walk a mile without dying, and my 2 pound hand weights were intimidating.  Today, I’m lifting 50 pounds on the lateral pulldown machine and pushing 70 pounds on the leg press machine.  What a difference a year makes! 

Never in a million years would I ever think I would be concerned with losing my Y membership and changing my workout routine.

It’s almost laughable.

9 Comments

Filed under blogging, exercise, family, homeschool, humor, life, marriage, moms, thoughts

9 responses to “Modifications

  1. Well that’s a bummer! I’m sorry to hear about this little problem. It would be very difficult to give up something you enjoy so much and is working well for you.

    My advice would be to maybe find the best work around that you can and put as much money away for a membership as you can. Even if it’s only a few bucks a week or month. Eventually you would be able to get that membership without going broke.

  2. Gary: It is going to be difficult to give it up, but I think I can make the other things work at home. It’s just going to be different.

    The membership isn’t that much and maybe I’ll consider it later. Thanks for your advice. 🙂

  3. S. Le

    Better to have a sane husband I think. Now that you have the drive to work out, you will do it on your tod, without the gym.

  4. There’s a joke in here about a “Weighting List” or “Weightlessness” somewhere, but it’s too early in the morning 🙂

    You should make your son work at the YMCA and hang on to the free membership. hee hee!
    Hey! He’s finished his studying for the summer.

    The only time I’ve ever lost 25 pounds was when there was a rip in my Halloween candy pillowcase.

    • S. Le: My husband’s sanity is debatable, but sane in this case is the better choice.
      I’d rather drive to workout than depend on my drive to workout. I know I have the drive, but it’s hard sometimes.

      planetross: You should “wait” until later in the day to comment on blogs. heehee!

      Unfortunately, we have child labor laws here. Otherwise, I’d take your advice.

      Sorry for your loss, Ross. That’s a lot of candy to lose! Didn’t you recently lose about 11 pounds (5 kilo)?

  5. You should tell Hubby that you choose to keep your free membership at the Y. You can adapt to living with an insane Husband.
    My Wife has…..

  6. Tony: You are right! I should put my foot down and tell him that I want to keep my membership! Sane or not!

    I’ll let you know how it goes…

  7. americaspeaksink

    We also need to work out on love. The gym is great but our minds and hearts need working out as well. The principles of ” The Relationship Reconstruction Project” and that way of life is the best way love has to go the distance.

Leave a Reply

