The funniest blog continued

Last summer, I came across a blog about a guy who found a 1977 JC Penney’s Catalog in an attic, and I laughed so hard I cried.  One of my first entries from 2008, was called The funniest blog and it included a link to his blog about some of the fashions in the catalog.

Now, Johnny Virgil over at 15 Minute Lunch, has posted a part 2 and part 3 to his blog about the catalog.  Again, I laughed so hard I cried.  This time at more ridiculous fashions, furniture, ‘ground-breaking’ electronics, video games and exercise equipment from 1977. 

I was 6 years old back then and it’s scary to know that I most likely dressed like that.  Good grief, I hope I didn’t dress like that!   And why don’t I remember playing Pong? 

The following links contain some “mature” language.

1977 JC Penney’s Catalog, Part II

1977 JC Penney’s Catalog, Part III

 

Note: I do remember playing Pong!  It just took a while to come to me. 

Here I am in 1976.  It isn’t 1977,  but close enough. 

me-1976

 

7 Comments

Filed under blogging, humor, life, thoughts

7 responses to “The funniest blog continued

  1. S. Le

    Fantastic! Brilliant! Loved looking at the adverts and “fashions!” Thanks for the laugh!

  2. S. Le

    I love your photo. VERY cute!

    • S. Le: Glad you enjoyed the links. The 70’s era was embarrassing enough and laughing at it makes for good therapy. Thanks for the compliments on my childhood pic. I came across it and added it in because it completed my post, I think.

  3. It was a good time to be a kid in the ’70s: wearing bad clothing as an adult is much more embarrassing.
    I think I went through a valure (sp?) and plaid stage at sometime.

  4. S. Le

    Ross in velour. Now THAT’s a picture. *shutters*

  5. S. Le: thanks for the correct spelling of “velour”: I tried every combination I could think of and still couldn’t find it.
    It was a short stage really … maybe it was just a sturdy cardboard box. hee hee!

  6. PR: I wouldn’t say being a kid in the 70’s was a ‘good time’, but it was interesting and glad it’s over. The only two things I miss are my bike with the banana seat and my Scooby-Doo metal lunch box.

    Velour…ah yes! A static trap! Glad S. Le corrected the spelling…I just couldn’t do it.

Leave a Reply

