Christmas break, day 15

Win Win! 

This week has completely flown by.  I can’t believe it is already Friday, and I only have two days left before I go back to doing what I do best…I’m not sure what that is, but I think it’s all the other stuff that I haven’t done much of since December 19.  

Monday, I packed away Christmas decor and rearranged the living room furniture.  For some reason, the living room gets a face lift after the tree comes down.  Something also possessed my hubby to finally give up his broken recliner.  It is out of the living room and in the basement. I also mopped my floors.  Win win!  

Tuesday, I enjoyed my clean floors that morning, and then I went shopping.  All we had to eat, it seemed, were chocolate candy wafers and pretzel pieces left over from where I made a ton of chocolate covered pretzels over the holidays.  Later that evening, we had a friend over for dinner and we enjoyed the mild winter weather by our fire pit outside.  We determined that our anthem for our monthly gathering will be Pork and Beans by Weezer.  

Rob (left) and Daniel (right)

Rob (left) and Daniel (right)

Daniel and me

Daniel and me

img_3618

Wednesday, I went shopping again, but this time it was for music and books.  I finally got the Cocteau Twins CD Blue Bell Knoll.  I use to have it back in college, but it disappeared.  It is sometimes nice to buy the original CD rather than download it.  I also bought a music textbook called The Enjoyment of Music. It’s a college level text and not fourth grade level so I think I’ll keep it and refresh my memory on music appreciation.  It was only $5, and I saw it online for more than $70.  Frugality is my passion.  Win win again!

Thursday, happy New Year and happy birthday to Ian who turned 10.  We had cake for breakfast, then we went out and spent too much money for pizza. I kept telling myself…”chill, it’s his birthday.”  Later that evening, I printed photographs on my new printer to catch up on some of my scrapbooks.  Man, this new printer uses a lot of ink!

birthday breakfast

birthday breakfast

Yes, it's true. Kids like the packaging more than the gifts.
Yes, it’s true. Kids like the packaging more than the gifts.

Friday, I went to the Y.  I’m glad to say that this is the first year I don’t have to worry about how I’m going to loose 10 pounds because I have already lost 20!  Now it’s time to work those muscles, and since 2008 was the year of weight loss, 2009 will be the year of toning.  Today was my first day of weight bearing exercises.   I also bought a new jump rope.  

Now, I’m off to make a cake and perhaps I have gotten a little ambitious.  I’m attempting to make a building block cake for my son’s party tomorrow.  Fingers crossed.

*Update* I am definitely not a pastry chef.  This cake was by far the hardest thing to make.  There was no way getting around not making it look homemade. I thought baking was my issue, but it’s the icing.  And for pete’s sake, icing marshmallows at that!   So for a laugh, here’s the cake.  I gave it my best shot.  I’m glad I don’t make cakes for a living or I’d be broke! 

 my pitiful building block cake

6 Comments

Filed under blogging, books, exercise, friends, life, moms, music, photography, thoughts, videos

6 responses to “Christmas break, day 15

  1. I think you did a good job of the cake: it looks very legolicious!

    Weezer is definitely anthem material.

  2. S. Le

    Fantastic, happy photos.

    I personally love the Lego cake. You can build stuff and then eat them! Brilliant!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.

  3. planetross: The cake was legolicious. Did you hear Weezer’s Christmas EP? It is/was awesome!

    S. Le: Thanks for the compliments.

  4. OMWord. I am totally bookmarking that page with the Lego cake instructions. I am not a pastry chef, either, but with three boys who are wild about Legos, as well as their friends, that would be a winner. Hm. Too bad no one has a birthday for another six months.

  5. Karen Joy: Hey thanks! I hope your cake turns out better than mine, whenever you make it.

  6. Kasha & kids

    Love the Lego Cake! Happy Belated Birthday, Ian!!

Leave a Reply

