Christmas break, day 1

Ramblings

“I am a work of art.”  Literally.  Someone on facebook has been posting pics from FaceinHole.com, and I finally checked it out today.  There is too much on there for me to ‘play’ with;  so I stuck to the art scenarios.  I just wish I had better photos to work with.  I’m always the one behind the camera.  I’ve only taken a couple of photos of myself for profile pictures, which is absolutley frustrating.   My modesty just doesn’t allow me to pose in front of a camera while I am the one taking the picture.

*The continuation of this blog,  following the images, contains opinions and comments not normally expressed by the author.  Read at your own discretion.

GUSTAV KLIMT - ADELE BLOCH-BAUER

GUSTAV KLIMT - ADELE BLOCH-BAUER

Mona Lisa

LEONARDO DIVINIC - MONA LISA

JOHANNES VERMEER - GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING

JOHANNES VERMEER - GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING

Speaking of vanity, as in Vanity Fair, my son is finishing Pilgrim’s Progress  (a simplified version) by John Bunyan.  The book describes a place called Vanity Fair where there is sin, drinking, partying, and “bad stuff” as my son calls it.   I wonder if the magazine, Vanity Fair, got its name from the book.  It would be fitting considering the trash they publish.  I was at the doctor’s office recently and saw the December issue of Vanity Fair with Kate Winslet on the cover.  She must be desperate for ‘exposure’.  When actresses are desperate, they will ‘bare’ more of themselves than is necessary.  I know there are many fans of Vanity Fair and their charming columnist, Christopher Hitchens.  He is such a chipper gentleman with encouraging things to say about others.  I’m sure he would enjoy a day at the Vanity Fair. 

Mr. Hitchens is like Apollyon in Pilgrim’s Progress.  Recently, I was at Barnes and Noble, and for some unknown reason, I decided to look through Mr. Hitchens’ book that was on the shelf near me.  He is such a sad person, and he has many insults to throw out at Christians.  Why would someone who isn’t religious want to give opinions on religions?   I am not a scientist,  so you will not hear me arguing against any scientist’s theories.  I am a good, compassionate  and caring person,  except when I think of him.  I really would feel sorry for him if he wasn’t so evil.  When I think of Christopher Hitchens, I think of  the painter, Francis Bacon.  In college, I studied  Bacon’s work and wrote a paper on him.  During the research, I became so troubled by my findings, that it gave me nightmares.  His work is as disturbing as he was.  I think they even resemble each other.  Bacon’s image is from here.  Hitchens’ image is from here.

Maybe I should reconsider which books I peruse through while waiting for my son to use the bathroom at Barnes and Noble.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, blogging, books, Christianity, Christmas, homeschool, life, thoughts

Leave a Reply

