The pottery visit

After the benefit run/walk, we set out for the three hour drive home with the W.M. Hewitt Pottery on our route.  It was fairly easy to find and not out of the way at all, and I wondered to myself why I hadn’t gone there before now.   The pottery is quaintly situated at the end of a long road with a pond and several acres of land.  The Hewitt home is adjacent to the two barns; one that serves as the studio and the other as the gallery.  The shelter houses the kilns; two large and one small.   Being there made me appreciate the rustic and simplistic lifestyle that usually accompanies North Carolina potters. 
 
The sun had gone behind the clouds and it was cold and serene.  We walked around, looking at the kilns, pots, gallery and the studio. Refreshments of different cheeses, crackers, apple cider and coffee were available inside the studio.  There were several patrons roaming the grounds and buying things.  A few people were talking to Mark when I was near, and so I never had a chance to approach him.  I’m not sure what I would have said anyway, but actually seeing him was good enough.   The jar I purchased is made by Mark’s apprentice Joseph Sand.  I’m not disappointed that I wasn’t able to ‘afford’ something of Mark’s, but owning Joseph’s work is just as special. 
Below is a photo essay of the visit.  All in all…it was a very good day.  
 
approaching the pottery

approaching the pottery

row of pots

row of large pots

row of smaller pots

row of smaller pots

view of pots with studio barn in the background

view of pots with studio barn in the background

a kick wheel inside the studio

a kick wheel inside the studio

a nice display of the milk pitcher and sugar bowl

a nice display of the milk pitcher and sugar bowl

plates hanging on outside of studio

plates hanging on outside of studio

this barn served as the gallery

this barn served as the gallery

a few examples of the pots inside.

vases and jars inside the gallery

more pots on display

more vases and jars

one of the kilns

one of the kilns

one of Marks pots

one of Mark's pots

the two items I purchased

the two items I purchased

3 Comments

Filed under art, blogging, life, photography, pottery, walking

3 responses to “The pottery visit

  1. Sharon Davis

    What a cool place! I like your pottery choices. I may have to take a trip to NC for some pottery!

  2. What are you going to put in your pots?

  3. planetross: I think I want to stay away from putting cookies in the jar. It kind of cheapens it, I think. I might put a plant in the planter since that is what it’s made for. There is a hole in the bottom.

Leave a Reply

