Me – aka: potter/groupie

There’s so much guilt one has when they have a blog and don’t post anything regularly.  I’m not one of those people.  Yeah, right.

It seems that no matter how hard I try to devote time to my blog, I always get preoccupied with other things.  There are at least four drafts that are saved that I have never finished.  I don’t think I’m alone with this type of “problem”, but that’s still no excuse – I know.  So, for a treat I’ve included an exclusive video.  It will appear at the end, but don’t scroll down and jump ahead.  That’s cheating.  There’s more to read first.

A few weeks ago, I picked up a batch of freshly glazed ceramics from the pottery studio, but I haven’t been able to photograph everything. Here’s a sneak peek.  Sorry, it’s just one photo, but I promise there will be more to come.

This is a stretched out textured hand-built tray I made.  The inspiration came from this video.

Here I am working on the wheel.  *Hint*  Keep reading.

On April 12, my husband and I did something very unique and exciting.  We are sort of reinventing ourselves - by going to a concert! Ha! We had not been to a concert together since Dinosaur Jr. in 1994.  The two bands we saw were incredible, DeVotchKa and The Magnetic Fields.  Only recently did I become a fan of both bands, and I did my homework.  Within only a few months, I researched each band and the members, acquired as many albums as I found available, and memorized most of their songs.  Yes, SIR-REE!.  I crammed like I was cramming for finals in college.  I’m a hard-core fan now.  I even have proof.  Check out The Magnetic Fields tour blog at this link.  Scroll down through their post about day two in Chapel Hill, and you will see me wearing an owl t-shirt.  I think Stephin Merritt likes owls.

To further prove my fandom, below are some photos I took.

The opening band was DeVotchKa.  Nick Urata is singing and Tom Hagerman is in the background.  They are playing “The Clockwise Witness”.  Awesome song!

Shawn King played drums and trumpet.  Their performance was an acoustical set, but Shawn played a drum machine.  DeVotchKa wouldn’t have sounded the same without the percussion.

Next, is DeVotchKa’s set list.   I didn’t snatch it. David (a guy we met) gets all the credit for his quick thinking to grab it before someone else did.  Good thing I thought quickly and asked to get a photo of it.

Finally, The Magnetic Fields and Stephin Merritt with one of his four kazoos.  He is a genius with those unusual instruments.  Oh, and you guessed correctly.  I am directly in front of him.  Lucky me!   

Another photo of Stephin singing one of my favorite songs, “Andrew in Drag” from their new album, Love at the Bottom of the Sea.   The lyrics to the song will raise some eyebrows, but I love to hear him sing it.  I enjoy hearing it played acoustical, but the original version is my favorite.  As a warning, there’s a viewer’s discretion when watching the official video.  Regardless of the video, the song has such a catchy tune and lyrics, I bet you’ll go around singing it in your head, too.   Just be careful of who hears you. There have been worse songs written and sung.  Right? ;-)

The other TMF musicians left to right: Shirley Simms, John Woo, and cellist Sam Davol.  Not pictured: Claudia Gonson.

Well, here’s Claudia.  She was too far away, but I captured her head above the piano.   Tom Hagerman of DeVotchKa, came out during the encore to perform “Love is Like Jazz” with TMF.

Now, if by chance you are still reading and have fourteen minutes with nothing to do, you can view me throwing on the potter’s wheel.  Surprise!

I’m not sure why I taped myself.  It was either because I could or in some way critique myself later.  I’ve never watched myself throw before.  Anyhow, you’ll find it either fascinating, boring, or fascinatingly boring.

Thanks for watching.

6 Comments

Filed under blogging, ceramics, life, music, photography, pottery, thoughts, videos

6 responses to “Me – aka: potter/groupie

  1. Magnetic Fields is an awesome band – I hear their music often when I’m listening to Pandora. And how COOL to be on the website! You look so pretty. I love owls too.

    I will have to come back for the video. I’m finishing the first half of the manuscript today – due tomorrow – and am nearly finished lunch. Back to the grindstone!

    • Thanks for the compliment, Christy! I recently added music to the video. Probably even more boring. LOL

      Sunday was a great day for working on your manuscript. I think it rained all over the East Coast. I read an article today about the DASH diet and I thought of you. I’m so excited for you!

  2. It was fun to watch you throw :-) I am so glad you found that studio!

  3. I am the queen of distraction, thanks to adult-onset A.D.H.D. My poor blog suffers, but I say, my personal life is just all the more better because of it.

    I am glad to read you are having fun living life. Love the pottery, by the way. Never tried it, but it looks like something I’d love to do.

    • Thanks for commenting GG! Blogging is a great distraction from my personal life. lol

      I’m glad to finally have some fun for a change. I think you’d like pottery. It’s very relaxing.

Leave a Reply

