The story of Biscuit

A true (and lengthy) story about a dog who found his family.

I have never believed in reincarnation, nor have I ever given much thought to whether there are angels on earth; though, I believe there is a heaven.   Some people often find comfort in claiming that a loved one who has passed on is watching over them from heaven.  I have had loved ones to pass on, and to me they are just…gone.  They are remembered, missed and loved dearly but gone.  One in particular was our family dog, Bodie.

Bodie has been gone now for over a year and a half.  I often think about him and miss him, but my longing for him has never made me want another dog.  Since April, my son and I have been volunteering weekly at the local humane society, and not even one dog has tugged at my heart-strings so I would take him/her home.  My position was I didn’t want another dog.  What I would rather have, was another Bodie, but that would never EVER be possible.  That is, until Biscuit came along.

One Thursday, my husband and I were sitting outside on our swing enjoying the cool evening of the early fall.  Hearing some steps, my husband turned around expecting to see our son walking towards us.  Instead, it was a dog – small, but stout with a floppy ear.  The dog cheerfully walked up to Daniel and begged to be petted.  He was sweet and friendly without any timidness.  Then, he scampered over to me and jumped up on the swing and sat down beside me.  He stared straight ahead allowing me to see only his profile.  Immediately, I saw Bodie.  It was in his eyes, though they were brown, but not as dark brown as Bodie’s were.  Also, it was the shape of his head and his snout.  Daniel also noticed the resemblance, except for the ears and his coloring, his ears were smaller and his coat smoother – a cream color.  His body style was very similar to Bodie’s.  We jokingly referred to him as our Bodie angel.

We suspected that he belonged to someone up the street and that he had gotten out.  After a few minutes of petting the dog, we decided it was time to walk him back home, wherever that was.  The people at the first house we stopped at told us that he had been roaming the neighborhood for a couple of weeks, but that they saw him regularly at a house at the end of the street.   We walked the dog to that house and as we approached the porch, the dog acted like he was at “home”.  A lady came to the door and told us he wasn’t her dog, but that she had been feeding him and basically giving him a place to “crash.”  He either slept in a chair on her porch or would enter her doggie door and sleep in her garage.  She continued to tell us that she had made a few attempts to find the owner, but no one came forward.  She already had a dog and wasn’t in a position to take in another one.  Upon hearing that the dog didn’t belong to anyone, my husband asked her if we could take him off her hands.  She said sure, and let us take the food that was on the porch that was obviously his, and we walked back home with him.

All I kept thinking was that someone must be missing their dog.  He was such a sweet dog, he’s got to belong to someone.  He had a home, somewhere.  In the meantime, I couldn’t allow this dog (unneutered at that) to continue to roam the streets.  Besides, what would the people at the humane society think of me?

We prepared a place for him to stay in our garage.  Bodie’s dog basket had been put away and we got it down along with his old bowls.  There were some old towels and throw rugs that Bodie slept on and we put those in the basket.  I put the food in Bodie’s metal food bowl and the dog began to eat.  He sounded like Bodie eating.  Daniel and I just looked at each other and listened to the familiar sound.  Then he drank from the water bowl, and the rhythm from the sound he made as he lapped up the water even sounded like Bodie’s drinking.  He walked over and got in Bodie’s basket, rearranged the towels with his paws, and then lied down – just like Bodie.

There we were with this dog, a dog that looked and acted like Bodie, yet wasn’t quite like him.  He had his own personality, especially with his one floppy ear, but there were too many similarities.  All of this was definitely strange. 

Daniel and I needed another opinion, and we called our son downstairs to see the dog.  As the dog walked around the garage and jumped up for attention, our son  also noticed the resemblance to Bodie.  Ian became so excited and pleaded for us to keep him.  Daniel felt the same way, but I was reluctant.  “Someone out there has lost this dog, ” I said,  “Someone might be looking for him.  How could someone just let this sweet dog go?”

The dog did well in our basement overnight.  We expected to see a disaster by the morning, but he was house broken thank goodness!  When we greeted him in the basket, he wagged his tail vigorously, and then rolled over on his back so we could scratch his belly –  just like Bodie.

My husband walked him and I went to work on the computer, making flyers and posting “FOUND DOG” on several websites, including the local county animal shelter.  Daniel later took the flyers around to some local businesses to display.  He also took the dog to our vet to ask if they were aware of anyone looking for him.

That entire day, the dog did so well with us, and we did well with him, too.  Having a dog seemed second nature, and the fact that he was so much like Bodie fascinated us.  But we couldn’t get comfortable with having him around.  I was certain it was only a matter of time before we’d hear from his owners.

Later that evening, a lady called about the dog.  She had seen his flyer at the Post Office.  She even emailed me a picture she had of the dog and it was, indeed, the dog in my garage.  After we confirmed that we were dealing with the same dog, she began to tell me more about him.

One rainy September evening, the lady and her granddaughter were on their way church. Driving along a busy four-lane road, they watched the dog get thrown out of a truck.  The driver then kicked the dog and drove away.  After witnessing such a horrible scene, the lady couldn’t leave the dog there all alone.  She and her granddaughter got out of the car to get him, and drove on to church with a wet and frightened dog.  Once at church, she asked a woman, who was a veterinarian, to come out to her car and examine the dog. ( That vet just so happens to be our veterinarian.)  The vet looked him over and said he was about a year old, a lab mix, and didn’t appear to have any injuries.  She mentioned he was such a friendly dog, especially to have been tragically abandoned.  That night, the lady took the dog home with her.

A few days later, the lady found a family who expressed interest in taking in the dog.  That family lived in the same town as us.  The lady called the family on a few occasions to ask how the dog was doing.  The mother would say the dog was fine, but made excuses for why the lady and her granddaughter couldn’t come by to visit the dog.  Now knowing that I had the dog and that he been roaming in my neighborhood for at least two weeks, the lady realized the mother had been lying to her the whole time.  The lady proposed that I keep the dog.  She did not want him going back to that family since they were not only neglectful, but liars.  And God-forbid the man jerk who cruelly abandoned him come forward to claim him!  Of course, I didn’t want the dog to go back into the hands of such unworthy people.

After listening to her story, which I believed to be true, I realized that this poor dog didn’t have a home.  At one time, someone had indeed loved him.  He behaves well, is easy to train, desires much attention, and even walks obediently on a leash.  I shared with the lady our story, how the dog approached us the day before, and how he resembled and behaved like our Bodie who passed away.  The dog was like an angel of our Bodie with his cream-colored body and lively self; he was Bodie with a new youthful body.  She believed that it was meant-to-be that we keep the dog, this dog found us for a reason.  Maybe so.

We debated over a name for the dog.  The lady who rescued him on the busy four-lane road called him Marley. The lady at the end of the street who allowed him to crash at her house called him Buddy.  Those two names weren’t options for us because we have close relatives who have dogs with those names.   Ian suggested Bono or Elvis (I’m not sure why.)  Daniel suggested Charlie, but I couldn’t warm up to it.  With his cream or biscuit colored coat, I was leaning towards Biscuit.

So, we decided on Biscuit, not only for his coloring, but as a tribute to Bodie because he loved to eat dog treats that we called…

Biscuits

7 Comments

Filed under animals, blogging, family, home, life, pets, thoughts

7 responses to “The story of Biscuit

  1. Oh Tammy, I am crying – tears of joy!

    I so understand that sorrow and ache of losing a beloved dog. I remember emailing you a year ago – when our Max died unexpectedly on Halloween. I cannot tell you how happy I am for you, and how much I too believe Biscuit was meant for you and your family.

    Thank you so much for sharing this.

    XO

  2. Thanks Christy! Having Biscuit with us is an incredible blessing. When we spend time with him, we always comment on how good he is.

    It’s hard to believe that Max’s passing was almost a year ago. I know your family misses him, but I hope Roxy is just as good a companion for you all as he was.

  3. Biscuit’s very lucky … and so are you.
    That’s pretty impressive that you were able to get all that background information on him.
    You should become a pet detective.

    • I mean a “petective”.

      … or maybe Biscuit is “Petective Custody”. hee hee!

      • The whole story with Biscuit still baffles me. He is a great dog, and I do consider myself very lucky.

        I guess I could be a petective; though, I didn’t go looking for the information, it came to me. Real pet detectives might think I cheated.

  4. How could I have not commented on your story of Biscuit? I was so moved. Biscuit in your life is meant to be, and he really does look and act like Bodie! What cute little bodies and facial expressions!

Leave a Reply

