Throwing for a month

Recently, my friend and I visited a small ceramics studio during one of our Saturday afternoons together.  The tour of the studio was brief, but it was ample time to spark my interest.  There were two rows of Brent pottery wheels that just beckoned me to “throw” a ball of clay on one of them.  It was love at first sight!

The idea of working in a studio for five to six hours, doing nothing but throwing on the wheel, excited me.  I have long wanted an opportunity to work on my technique; my wheel throwing skills have gotten quite rusty over the years .  I couldn’t believe that I was standing in a place where it might all be possible.

After I returned home, I discussed with my husband the idea of getting a seasonal membership for one month.  He was very supportive and encouraged me to sign up.  The only thing that discourages me is the drive to the studio.  The distance is 55 miles one-way, an hour drive.  I weighed my other option, which is my local art center - it doesn’t offer anything that is comparable.  Not only is the membership a the studio a reasonable price, but I will have 24/7 access to the studio with my own key!  I can work whenever and however long I want.  How amazing is that!?

My plan is to photograph and write about my time spent in the studio.  And if I schedule my time right, I will work there at least twice a week.  My overall goal is to strengthen my skills on the wheel and produce a few pots.  One thing is certain, I’m sure I will have a wonderful experience.   I cannot wait to share it!

4 Comments

Filed under art, blogging, ceramics, life, pottery

4 responses to “Throwing for a month

  1. OOoh Tammy, I am SO EXCITED for you!!!!!!!!!! Congrats already! I know this will be time very well spent and a real opportunity for personal growth and enrichment. Hooray!

    • Thanks Christy! It is exciting and I can’t believe I’m throwing again. I could kick myself for letting “life” get in the way for so long…18 years. UGH!
      The timing is perfect for me to start working with clay again. I couldn’t be happier!

  2. I’m sure it will all come back to you quickly … like French … for some people who aren’t me.
    It’s amazing how many people put aside things they love to do to focus on other things: it’s like someone shines a “distractor beam” on them … or something.

    Good luck getting behind the wheel again!

    • I had four years of French and it never came back. Thank goodness we now have Google translate.

      I’ve been practicing the art of self-sacrificing over my own love of…art.
      I like your distractor beam analogy.

Leave a Reply

