Our essential offspring

Ian is our offspring, but he is very much his father’s son.  They both are nerds.  There, I said it!  It is a fact that Ian can accept, but his dad cannot.  They both love science, science fiction, Star Wars, astronomy, planets, and space.  Those interests classify as nerd interests.  Are they not?  They are also both messy individuals, which can really be a chore for me, being as that I am a neat freak. 

Both my husband and son are very finicky eaters, but with opposite tastes.  Here is where Ian begins to show more signs that I actually gave birth to him.  We both love to eat watermelon, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, and pancakes.  We also like to ride roller coasters, enjoy nature and birding, and read Calvin and Hobbes.  

Back in 1989, I purchased a Calvin and Hobbes book called The Essential Calvin and Hobbes.  I have always liked Calvin, his mischievous intellect and his stuffed tiger, Hobbes, which came to life and joined him in all of his adventures and daily endeavors.  The Essential was the only Calvin book I owned and held on to it for sentimental reasons.  When Ian was seven or eight years old, I introduced him to Calvin and that is where it all began.  Little did I know that he would relate to Calvin and even go as far as to mimic some of the scenes from the comic.  He became so interested in the books that he was on a mission to collect every book.  As of yesterday, his collection was completed.  He now has all the books with exception of maybe two, but he explained to me that those books are contained in the ones he owns.  He obviously knows what he is doing because he said we no longer need to look for Calvin and Hobbes books anymore.  

Thank goodness!

Calvin books

  **GROSS ALERT**                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            If you are susceptible to being grossed out from seeing a hideous sore on a thumb, stop reading here.              

*Wart Removal Update*

We are only on day two of dealing with the effects of beetle juice that was applied to Ian’s thumb on Monday.  Beetle juice, from the blister beetle, is dangerous stuff.  Ian’s thumb actually looks worse than the wart itself.  After he peeled off the wart from the duct tape therapy last Friday, his thumb looked better than it had in a long time.  I’m wondering now if we should have just left it alone.  The blister popped yesterday and it is painful.  At some point, the blister should dry out and peel off with healthy skin underneath.  The wait continues…

The things we do for our children!

 Ian's thumb

2 Comments

Filed under animals, art, blogging, books, cartoon, doctors, eating, family, humor, life, moms, thoughts

2 responses to “Our essential offspring

  1. You’ll have to wait for your son to get a bit older to see who he takes after more: sci-fi, messiness, and star wars kind of go in the “boys and stuff boys like” category.

    I think I’ve acquired all the bad habits and some of the good ones from both parents. I take turns looking like them on alternate days too!

    *I can proudly say I’ve never had a wart in my life.
    I hear frogs are the cause … but I could be wrong; I usually am.

    • planetross: I’m out numbered when it comes to the “stuff boys like” category.
      I had a wart when I was a child, but I don’t remember much about it. I guess it went away.
      I don’t think a frog was involved though.

Leave a Reply

