Lego Mom

I am the mom of a Lego enthusiast, and I confess that I encourage my son’s love for Legos.  In the spring of 2007, I started a support group for his ‘addiction’ because he wanted to socialize with others who shared his ‘passion’.   I first scoped out my community for other such support groups and found that there were none.  The only option I had was to start one myself.  I was relieved to discover that there were other moms out there who had boys with the same interest.   My club is exclusively for homeschooled children, and the mom’s I meet are homeschool moms.  These moms are very cool women, and we have just as much fun chatting as the kids do building.   Our club meets once a month at my church for an hour and a half, and I provide the bricks and parts for free building.  The kids are also encouraged to bring their latest creations for the display table.  We usually have snacks and there is always lots of quality socialization and fun.  One could call it a monthly Lego party.  Here is a link with ideas on how to start a Lego Club. 

There is also a Lego camp, (yes, I said Lego camp) and he attended one this past summer.  It was a day camp that met for five days, and he loved every minute of it.  Of course, he wants to go back next summer. 

It’s very interesing raising a child who builds during most of his free time.  It is a daily wonder what he comes up with.  The Lego club has been beneficial to me as well.  It’s been comforting to meet other moms who know what it’s like to have a spaceship bank two inches from the front of your face or to listen to the details of a MicroCon VGP-4589 laser ion cannon. 

Below are some of his past creations.

Creature #1

A creature of some sort

Modified Exo-Force dude

Modified Exo-Force dude

A Bionicle figure called Makuta made at the Lego camp.

A Bionicle figure called Makuta made at the Lego camp.

9 Comments

Filed under blogging, friends, homeschool, life, moms, thoughts

9 responses to “Lego Mom

  1. LEGO rocks! One never truly outgrows LEGO; it’s just passed on.
    It’s like genetics or building blocks or something.
    I didn’t click on the links because I have other plans next summer :)

  2. planetross: Other plans next summer? You’d pass up a Lego camp? :-)
    I like to include links. It shows I’m not making this stuff up; there actually is a Lego ‘camp’!

  3. Tony

    Hi, I came across your blog via Planetross’ weird evil egg experiment.
    Awesome Lego creations, I could never build much as a kid & then still couldn’t as a Dad, in time I will be able to try again as a grandad, probably still will be just as Lego hopeless.

    I must be Lego Challenged

  4. Tony: Thanks for stopping by. I’m Lego challenged as well. All I can do is organize them.

    Do you think the egg experiment is evil? Would that make planetross a mad scientist? heehee.

  5. Tony

    Definitely an evil little sucker…..

  6. Mary

    I am thinking about starting up a Lego club for my kids and their friends, so when doing some searching I found your blog about doing such a thing.

    Is your Lego club still active? How many people do you have? Do you require the parents to stay too? What are your “lessons learned” now that you’ve been doing the club for a while? I have even more questions but I’ll stop there for now.

    Thanks for any advice you can give me.
    Cheers,
    Mary

    • Mary: Thanks for stopping by. Yes, my Lego club is still active. Attendance is up and down with 5-10 kids at a time sometimes more. Yes, I do require parents to stay. I didn’t want it turning it into a drop off/ babysitting type of thing. Moms bring the kids, but some dads come too. The moms chat while the kids build. I don’t provide any structure. The kids enjoy the free socializing time.

      I’m not sure I’ve learned any lessons, other than to hang in there and have some rules laid out so kids don’t get out of hand. My group is fairly laid back and I have met some very nice ladies as a result. I’ll be glad to answer any other questions you have.

      Thanks,
      Tammy

  7. Karie

    Hi Tammy,
    I too, am looking into starting a lego club for my homeschooled sons. The one thing I can’t figure out is how many legos are needed. What works for you? Thanks K-

  8. Hi Karie,
    We take our own legos and bionicle parts for the kids to share during the meeting. We don’t take all of what my son owns, but there are a couple of large tubs full of various parts. Our idea is to just be creative. Good luck!
    -Tammy

Leave a Reply

